Official announcement of this year's BL4S winners!

We are sure that this year's shortlisted teams are eagerly waiting for the Beamline for Schools winning teams 2019 to be announced. A big thank you to all 178 participating teams again for contributing to the competition's big success!
After a long and extensive evaluation of this year's experimental proposals, experts from CERN and DESY finally selected the two winning teams:
Team “DESY Chain” from the West High School in Salt Lake City, USA, and team “Particle Peers” from the Praedinius Gymnasiumin Groningen, Netherlands. Congratulations!

The two winning teams of 2019 will look at fundamental differences between matter and antimatter. In October, these teams will be invited to the DESYresearch centre in Hamburg, Germany, to carry out their proposed experiments together with scientists from CERN and DESY. Read the full press release and see the winning proposals and videos here.

In 2020, CERN’s accelerators will still be shut down for maintenance and upgrade. Therefore we are very pleased to continue our collaboration with DESY also next year. The registration will open in summer and the proposal submission in autumn. Deadline for proposal submission will be the 31 March 2020. We are looking forward to another successful competition and inviting the BL4S winning teams 2020 to Germany.